Awards celebrate stalwarts of trucking industry

National Road Transport Hall of Fame celebrates a successful year

Awards celebrate stalwarts of trucking industry
Owen Driscoll, Liz Martin and Max Winkless


The National Road Transport Hall of Fame has honoured its CEO, Liz Martin, in its inaugural special recognition award.

Martin helped to found the Road Transport Historical Society in 1992; later officially opening the Hall of Fame museum.

The award recognsises "her outstanding contribution to the road transport community," the organisation says.

"With Liz at the helm since the inception of the National Road Transport Hall of Fame, it is only fitting that the wider trucking community have shown their appreciation of her efforts, awarding the local Alice Springs resident with the Special Recognition Award."

The Hall of Fame also celebrated three "Icons of the industry" during its annual reunion last weekend.

Owen Driscoll, Max Winkless and Ed Cameron each received the commendation, for their years of service across the industry.

Marketing manager for event sponsor Viva Energy Max Lane says the company was particularly pleased to recognise their efforts over more than 50 years in Australia.

"We are excited to celebrate the achievements of Owen, Max and Ed, hear their stories from across a lifetime of road transport involvement, and reward their service with the Icon of the Industry award," he says.

Around 8,000 people attended the annual pilgrimage to the National Road Transport museum in Alice Springs for the event, held last weekend.


Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive the Trade Trucks e-newsletter, digital magazine and other offers we choose to share with you straight to your inbox

You can also follow our updates by liking us on Facebook


Trucks For Hire | Forklifts For Hire | Cranes For Hire | Generators For Hire | Transportable Buildings For Hire