ATA unveils 2020 National Trucking Industry Awards finalists

Association pushes on with recognition as Covid-19 crimps ceremony


The Australian Trucking Association (ATA) has unveiled the finalists for the 2020 National Trucking Industry Awards, pointing to the heightened importance of their contribution in uncertain times.

The awards recognise businesses and individuals who have gone above and beyond the requirements of their role to improve their workplace and the industry. 

"While we are in the midst of unprecedented and stressful times, it has never been more important to celebrate the valuable contribution of the trucking industry and its people," ATA chair Geoff Crouch says in the midst of the coronavirus crisis. 

"Trucking is essential to the Australian way of life and is connected to every industry from agriculture to construction and retail.

"It’s important we recognise the outstanding businesses and individuals whose actions inspire others and make a positive impact." 

Revisit last year's finalists, here

The 2020 National Trucking Industry Award finalists are: 

Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Trucking Industry

  • Rex Chapman, Total Insurance Agencies, Strathpine Qld
  • Robert Cavanagh, Cavanagh’s Transport / Stockmaster, Inverell NSW
  • Lindsay King, Transking, Wetherill Park NSW

National Professional Driver of the Year

  • Sarah Brosnan, Fonterra Farm Milk Cartage, Latrobe TAS
  • Philip Crowe, Western Suburbs Concrete, Penrith NSW
  • Russell Lee, Directhaul, Darwin NT

National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year

  • Bette Phillips-Campbell, Uniting Victoria, Euroa Vic
  • Roslyn Anderson, Wales Truck Repairs, Smithfield NSW
  • Candice Lureman, VISA Global Logistics, Banksmeadow NSW

National Training Excellence Award

  • Chemtrans, Truganina Vic
  • K&S Energy, Truganina Vic
  • Wagners Transport, Toowoomba Qld

TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award

  • SRH Milk Haulage, Rutherford NSW
  • DT Rogers Bulk Transport, Wallace Vic
  • Brown’s Citrus Transport, Gayndah Qld 

The award judging panel is led by former ATA chair Trevor Martyn OAM. 

"I would like to thank all award nominees for their service to industry and commitment to ensuring its safety and professionalism," Crouch says. 

ATA flags the impact of the coronavirus pandemic means the award presentation will be delayed but the award winners will be given "the proper recognition they deserve when it is safe to do so, at an event that pays appropriate respect to the history and prestige of these awards". 


Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive the Trade Trucks e-newsletter, digital magazine and other offers we choose to share with you straight to your inbox

You can also follow our updates by liking us on Facebook


Trucks For Hire | Forklifts For Hire | Cranes For Hire | Generators For Hire | Transportable Buildings For Hire