New Zealand crowned top Scania service team

The Scania world finals show New Zealand to be best technicians

New Zealand crowned top Scania service team
The winning team from New Zealand. Photo courtesy: Peggy Bergman and Scania.


New Zealand has taken out the Scania Top Team 2015 world finals, pipping teams from the United Kingdom, Brazil and Australia as the most skilled Scania service team.

Held in Södertälje, Sweden, the event focused on a range of challenges from theoretical questions to servicing a V8 engine.

After holding off the UK team in the final challenge, which involved solving a truck problem theoretically, and then practically, the New Zealand team were crowned the winners off the ninth such event held at an international level.

Describing the win as "awesome", the Christchurch Shakers team overcame the 11 other teams that made it to Sweden for the final series and were awarded the grand prize of €50,000 (A$75,500).

Conceding defeat, Craig Waller of the UK’s Keltruck Nottingham team says it as "a very good final."

The Australian team, nicknamed the Wizards of Aus, was the first to be eliminated in the finals, after finishing last in the second challenge.

The challenge required the teams to find a specific part through Scania’s parts system Multi and then using the parts to solve the customer’s problem.

The third challenge, which required the daily maintenance of a V8 engine, saw the Brazil team fall 30 seconds short of the New Zealand and UK teams, and be eliminated.

Streamed live on Scania YouTube page, the final was the result of 8,000 participants from around 60 countries competition.

The teams consisted of: 

1st place, New Zealand: Ross Wallace, Darren O’Connor, Steven Watts, Andrew Goodfellow, David van Schie, James McCutchen and Michael Long.

2nd place, United Kingdom: Anthony Smeed, Graham Page, Craig Waller, Richard Barker, Darren Goodrum and Rob Warnes.

3rd place, Brazil: Carlos Eduardo Pimentel Leite, Igor Rafael Menegol, Neilson Goi Freitag, Marcelo Bueno, Felipe Daniel Fogaca, Carlos Alberto Fosch and André Luis Decker.

4th place, Australia: Jason Grech, Stephen Watson, Phil Sage, Logan Hoser, Benn Jeffery, Frank Muscat and Chris Nobbs.


Click here to subscribe to TradeTruck’s weekly newsletter and receive all the news directly in your inbox.



Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive the Trade Trucks e-newsletter, digital magazine and other offers we choose to share with you straight to your inbox

You can also follow our updates by liking us on Facebook


Trucks For Hire | Forklifts For Hire | Cranes For Hire | Generators For Hire | Transportable Buildings For Hire